Things I Can’t Explain

imgres-1

After my last post, I was in need of a fun book that was a quick read. I have a mile high stack in my TBR pile and reading about Scarlett O’Hara was keeping me from it for longer than I would have liked. My latest read, while it isn’t the best ever, was a nice little escape of a book and I am grateful to have caught up on one of my favorite characters.

Back in the 90’s, Nickelodeon had a great show “Clarissa Explains it All”, -one of my favorite shows as a kid. Clarissa was played by Melissa Joan Hart who later went on to “Sabrina the Teenage Witch” and a few other projects. This book however was written by the creator of Clarissa and takes place when she is in her mid-to-late 20’s.

The book is written in first person, with Clarissa narrating and filling in the gaps of where we last left her. She is still the same fun loving, crazy clothes wearing, hipster before hipsters were a thing, type of girl. Clarissa is an aspiring writer, and interning for the New York Post when it goes belly-up. She had been dating a guy named Norm, but he turned out to be just a little more psycho that she bargained for and when first in the book you find her jobless and single.

Clarissa, along with her 3 best friends, is navigating her way into adulthood, and sees that everyone else is doing it better than she (or so she thinks). Answering questions about the “Darling” family that old fans want answers to, and showing how sometimes you have to fall completely apart to be built back up, this book did both.

There were a few unoriginal ideas that I felt could have been presented in their own ways, but if you’re looking for a quick and amusing read then I recommend giving it a shot.

 

Leave a Reply

